Albania in the Security Council 2022 – 2023

Security council

At the meeting of the UN General Assembly which was held on June 11, 2021, Albania was elected a non-permanent member of the Security Council for the period 2022-2023. The Eastern European group to which our country was part, belonged to a country as a non-permanent member of the Security Council. Thanks to the successful multi-year lobbying and the intensive campaign carried out by all the structures of the Foreign Policy, Albania appeared in the elections as a consensual candidacy of the respective Group, which means that we were the only candidate and the election was safe.

The basic component of Albania’s campaign for this task has been to emphasize the credibility and constructiveness of our country’s foreign policy, both bilaterally and multilaterally, including even the framework of UN missions, in the service of peace, security and development at the regional and global level. Our many years of contributions have made Albania meriting decision-making tasks at the global level.

The election to the Security Council for the first time in 65 years as a member of the UN, represented a major challenge, but also an excellent opportunity already realized that will probably take decades to get repeated.

What does a non-permanent member mean?

The Security Council consists of fifteen members, five of whom (United States, France, the United Kingdom, China and Russia) are permanent members of the Council. Permanent members also enjoy the right of veto, which means that they can block any decision that conflicts with those lines of their foreign policy that are considered non-negotiable by these countries.

The other ten are non-permanent members of the Security Council, whose term is two years. To ensure periodic membership renewal without compromising the continuity and sustainability of the work of this important body, five new non-permanent members are elected each year to replace the previous five who have completed two years of service on the Council.

In principle, the fifteen members of the Council represent in as balanced a way as possible the entire membership of the United Nations, by continents and geostrategic regions. There are a total of five regional groups, including the 23-member Eastern Europe Group (including Russia, a permanent member of the Security Council). Our group had a non-permanent reserved membership. Albania’s mandate as a consensual candidate of this group begins on January 1, 2022, replacing the current representative of the same group, Estonia.

Albania’s priorities in the SC